Age

By now, I am 20 years and 8 months old, but sometimes I feel much older.

Especially when being confronted with teenagers or children, I feel like 40. I then often forget that I was a teenager myself some years ago.

Well, I wasn’t a typical teenager, I guess.

My horse-phase lasted as long as it took to read two books. They were a present. I do not dislike horses; I’m a fan of fantasy stories, and the heroes there are used to ride. But I sat on a horse back once, many years ago and I got sick. I respect horses and people who ride. But I favour owls and cats, sorry.

But back to the topic. Yeah, I was in love with bands which I now do not like anymore. I too had one or two crushes in school, but since almost no one of the boys liked younger bookish me, I had no boyfriend on lower classes (until class 12, after a previous change of school).

As far as I remember, I didn’t have a spite phase. I always got along well with my parents in my teen years. I liked school very much, even with being hated and insulted by some poor stupid minds.

I never went out late, got drunk or smoked. Never had wrong friends. Some may find it boring, because I have nothing to tell about parties and vomiting and kissing ugly boys and so on. But I enjoyed reading and watching TV and “networking” with my family and friends.

Now that I am starting to live on my own, I see the advantages of it. I can come home from cinema (and watch the late movies) or parties whenever I want.

One thing I like of being an adult is the fact that you can say “du” (informal addressing) to other adults, which is not natural when you’re quite younger. Also I am addressed the formal way (in German “Sie” and Ms./Mrs. last name), which I really like. I am old-fashioned, I know. My friend A. and I even addressed each other that way one evening… As a gag.

The disadvantage of getting older is the loss of childishness. I still have a five-year-old-version of myself in me, which loves soap bubbles, swinging, sledging, balancing and doing crazy things. I think that everyone needs such an inner child. If you lose it, you’ll get angry, embittered and won’t be able to feel joy anymore. There is a very sad German song about this, I guess. Well, I can do all that, but people will look at me strangely and think that I am crazy or insane. That doesn’t worry me, by the way.

That’s why I like and dislike growing older.

Current music: None. TV was running.

Current books:

Franz Kafka – Der Proceß

H.P. Lovecraft – Dagon and Other Macabre Tales (in German)

Current mood: amused

One thought on “Age

  1. Ich finde es immer schwierig zu beurteilen, ob jemand kindisch ist oder sich nur kindisch verhält.

    Wir hatten uns darüber schon einmal unterhalten.
    Ich bin Kind, ich bleibe Kind im Herzen.

    Ich habe meine erwachsene Seite, mit der ich mitten im Leben stehe. Durch die ich in der Lage bin, festen Halt unter den Füßen zu haben und mich gegen die Welt zu stellen.
    Und genauso habe ich meine kindliche Seite, die einfach nicht erwachsen werden will. Mit der ich die Leichtigkeit in manchen Dingen sehen kann und mich über Regenpfützen freuen kann.

    Manchmal glaube ich, dass du erwachsener bist, als ich es bin. Weil du viele schwierige Wörter beherrscht, von Politik viel Ahnung hast (zumindest im Verhältnis gesehen) und dein Allgemeinwissen meines um Weiten übersteigt. Und weil du unter manchen Dingen einen Strich ziehen kannst und dem nicht noch Jahre hintergrübelst.

    Aber ich bin total gerne Kind mit dir. Dann kann ich dir von Seto und Joey erzählen, ohen mir dabei dümmlich vorzukommen. Dann kann ich dich mit einem Kissen hauen und über fremde Leute lästern, ohne mich unreif zu fühlen. Und wir können Schokolade essen, ohne über die Kalorien nachzudenken.
    Aber ich bin mit dir erwachsen, wenn ich dir meinen Frust oder meinen Trauer ablade, weil du mir dann sagst, dass es entweder total doof ist oder du mir liebe Worte spendest.

    Ich glaube, du hast die Balance dazwischen ganz gut getroffen. Eben mal mehr und eben mal weniger. Wichtig ist nur, dass du es aus dem Inneren tust🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

