Lost & found and NaKniSweMo

In the first week of October, we moved to another town. Before the move, with all the organisation and box-packing going on, I completely lost my knitting mojo. I either was too tired or simply not in the right mindset to pick up my needles. It felt kinda weird, because on the one hand it was unusual to not knit while watching tv or Netflix, but on the other hand it was … interesting to see how I dealt with not knitting. It didn’t feel good per se, but it was like I needed a break from it. Does that make sense?
But my knitting mojo is slowly coming back – yesterday I even started my first colourwork project. I know it’s going to look terrible, but practise makes perfect, right?
Since I now have a commute, I can also use it and knit on the train. The only downside is that I don’t have space for more complex patterns that require a print-out. But that’s not a big problem. I just need to take projects that are small and have an easy to memorize pattern, and I’m set!

Remember this sweater? According to Ravelry, I started it in … February. Holy moly. Did not expect it to be this early. Anyway, as you may know, November is the National Knit a Sweater Month in which a lot of knitters produce a garment within a month.
For me and the upcoming November, I’ve decided I want to finish my Lipstick Cardigan.
It’s intended to be worn in my office, which can get quite chilly (one wall is an outside wall and that cools the whole room down). So in order to get to wear the cardigan at least a few times before spring, I want to finish the majority in November.
That means I want to finish knitting what is left of the body (two rows plus cast-off), the arms and the buttonband. Sewing in ends and blocking can happen in December, that’s okay. But 90% should be done within the month.
It’s also allowed to knit other stuff, which is a no-brainer because I can’t take it on my commute. So I need at least one other project for my commute and my lunch break.
We’ll see how it pans out. I’m fairly hopeful it’ll work.

And now you: Do you have plans for NaKniSweMo? If so, what plans?

Schreibe einen Kommentar

